ALERT

ATTENTION ⚠️

On Friday June 14th, 2024 at 11:30PM (UTC), maintenance has been scheduled for iLab ERP and this will affect institutions utilizing the financial integration feature on iLab. Maintenance is planned for 15 minutes and during this time, there is a server downtime of no more than 10 minutes. iLab Sites will remain operational for daily workflow and access. Details and updates can be found on the Agilent Status Page

Analytical Resources Core (ARC)

Overview of Services

The Analytical Resources CORE (ARC) is an Institutional CORE at Colorado State University administered by the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR). Our mission is to offer instrument capabilities and expertise that exceed the normal resources on individual research programs, and to make those technologies available as a shared resource. We strive to provide an environment that is rich in expertise and educational resources and to foster collaboration across the CSU community and beyond. 

The ARC is organized into 7 laboratories, each offering a complement of sophisticated instruments, services and technical expertise to support faculty/student research, and industrial and educational outreach in the following categories:

  • Materials Analysis (Thermal, Magnetic and Physical Properties)
  • Mass Spectrometry (metabolomics, proteomics, ionomics, macro/small molecule characterization, Biotyper)
  • Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy (400-500MHz solution NMR, EPR)
  • Optical Spectroscopy (ATR-FTIR, UV-Vis-NIR, steady-state and time-resolved fluorescence, DLS)
  • X-ray Diffraction and Scattering (single crystal XRD, powder & thin film XRD, XRR, GAXRD, SAXS/WAXS)
  • Electron Microscopy (TEM, SEM, sample prep)
  • Surface Analysis (XPS, contact angle goniometer, profilometer)

The instruments are available for use by researchers at CSU, as well as external customers after appropriate review. Most instruments are available on a self-service basis twenty-four hours per day after appropriate classes or training provided by faculty and staff associated with the ARC. Full service is offered on all instruments.

Leadership

Karolien Denef

ARC Director | Center Director Materials and Molecular Analysis (MMA)

970-491-3832 Karolien.Denef@colostate.edu
Cathy Griffin ARC Business Manager 970-491-4380 Cathy.Griffin@colostate.edu
Corey Broeckling Center Director Bioanalysis and Omics (BIO) 970-491-2273   Corey.Broeckling@colostate.edu
        

Stay Informed!

If you would like to stay informed of new instrumentation, expertise, personnel and educational opportunities (workshops/seminars/...) in the ARC, please subscribe to our arc mailing list, or join us on Linkedin.

Acknowledgements

Acknowledgment of facility contributions is expected in publications that include any data generated in the facility. Please cite us by our Research Resource ID (RRID: SCR_021758).
An example of an appropriate acknowledgment is “The authors wish to thank the Analytical Resources Core (RRID: SCR_021758) at Colorado State University for instrument access, training and assistance with sample analysis”. 

Links and Resources

 

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Cathy Griffin
iLab & Finances
 
970-491-4380
 
arc_ilab@colostate.edu
 
Remote
 
Claudia Boot
Self-use Mass Spectrometry
 
970-491-7049
 
Claudia.Boot@colostate.edu
 
Chemistry C1A
 
Corey Broeckling
Mass Spectrometry and Omics
 
970-491-2273
 
Corey.Broeckling@colostate.edu
 
Microbiology C129
 
Roy Geiss
TEM
 
970-491-6103
 
Roy.Geiss@colostate.edu
 
Yates 101A
 
Michele Mailhot
NMR
 
970-218-4846
 
Michele.Mailhot@colostate.edu
 
Chemistry C1E
 
Rebecca Miller
SEM and Surface Analysis
 
970-491-4046
 
Rebecca.Miller@colostate.edu
 
Chemistry C1B
 
Indrani Bhowmick
Spectroscopy and Materials Analysis
 
970-491-2380
 
Indrani.Bhowmick@colostate.edu
 
Chemistry C1D
 
Alyssa Winter May
MALDI Mass Spectrometry
 
970-491-5833
 
Alyssa.Winter@colostate.edu
 
Chemistry C3E
 
Linxing Yao
Metabolomics Mass Spectrometry
 
970-491-0961
 
Linxing.Yao@colostate.edu
 
Microbiology C123
 
Gustavo Diaz
Proteomics
 
970-491-7783
 
Gustavo.Diaz@colostate.edu
 
Microbiology C123
 
Ethan Crace
Xray crystallography and XRD
 
970-491-3233
 
Ethan.Crace@colostate.edu
 
Chemistry C1D
 

Price Lists


Search available services: View: by category alphabetically
MMA - Spectroscopy Instrument Fees (1)
ISS - Electron Microscopy (4)
ISS - Surface Analysis (4)